Padma Awards 2020

Padma Awards 2020

Image Source - Google | image by ASSAM NEWS  BREAKING NEWS

Eminent personalities, including former union ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes, Olympian boxer Mary Kom, former Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth have been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan on the Republic Day this year.

‘Padma Vibhushan Award' 2020 has been awarded to 7 peoples.  There are 4 awardees belong to the field of public affairs.

Padma Vibhushan 2020 winners

George Fernandes (Posthumous),
Arun Jaitley (Posthumous),
former Prime Minister of Mauritius Anerood Jugnauth,
Mary Kom,
Chhannulal Mishra,
Sushma Swaraj (posthumous) and
Pejavara Adhokhaja Matha Udupi (Posthumous).

Padma Bhushan 2020 Winners

M. Mumtaz Ali,
Muazzam Ali (posthumously),
Muzaffar Hussain Baig,
Ajay Chakraborty,
Manoj Das,
Balakrishna Doshi,
Krishnammal Jagannathan,
Former Nagaland Chief Minister SC Jamir,
Uttarakhand's well-known environmentalist and social worker Dr. Anil Prakash Joshi,
Dr. Tsering Landol,
eminent industrialist Anand Mahindra,
Neelakanta Ramakrishna Madhava Menon (Posthumous),
former Union Minister Manohar Parrikar (Posthumous),
Prof. Jagdish Seth,
Olympian badminton player PV Sindhu and
industrialist Venu Srinivasa

Padma Shri 2020 Winners

Guru Shashadhar Acharya,
Dr. Yogi Aeron,
Jai Prakash Agarwal,
Jagdish Lal Ahuja Social Work Punjab,
Kazi Masum Akhtar,
Gloria Arieira,
Khan Zaheerkhan Bakhtiyarkhan,
Padmavathy Bandopadhyay,
Dr. Sushovan Banerjee,
Dr. Digambar Behera,
Dr. Damayanti Beshra,
Pawar Popatrao Bhaguji,
Himmata Ram Bhambhu,
Sanjeev Bikhchandani,
Gafurbhai M. Bilakhia,
Bob Blackman,
Indira P. P. Bora,
Madan Singh Chauhan and others.

The Padma Vibhushan for this year has been awarded to a total of seven prominent personalities,
while 16 have been given the Padma Bhushan,
118 have been given the Padma Shri on the 71st Republic Day this year.

This year the President has approved conferment of 141 Padma Awards including 4 duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one).
The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushans, 16 Padma Bhushans and 118 Padma Shris.
Thirty four of the awardees are women, 18 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 12 posthumous awardees.


The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.

The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.


The Government of India instituted two civilian awards-Bharat Ratna & Padma Vibhushan in 1954. The latter had three classes namely Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg. These were subsequently renamed as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri vide Presidential Notification issued on January 8, 1955.


Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the country. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour. It is treated on a different footing from Padma Award. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India. No formal recommendations for Bharat Ratna are necessary. The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. Government has conferred Bharat Ratna Award on 45 persons till date.


Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, is announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.

The award is given in three categories, namely,

Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service;
Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order; and
Padma Shri for distinguished service.
All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards. However, Government servants including those working with PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these Awards.

The award seeks to recognize works of distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines.  

Post a Comment